Living Kindfully

Death is Around The Corner

On 23rd August 2024, an Indian women fell into a sink in Kuala Lumpur. She was walking on a pavement, the pavement gave way and she fell 8 meters into the sink hole.

Most of us does not usually wake up in the morning telling ourselves that this is the last day of our life. Neither did this lady when she walked on the streets of Kuala Lumpur. Yet, we take our existence for granted.

Meditating on our coming death is not easy. It can be depressing but also liberating. I still have not fully accepted that I will soon die. Nevertheless, my daily practice on reflecting the inevitable has somewhat grounded me in reality.

Each night before I go to bed, I express my gratitude towards life as I may die in my sleep. I prefer to die with good thoughts than going into after life by being angry.

Each morning when I wake up, I express my gratitude towards life as I have survived the night. By expressing appreciation, I set a positive tone for the day. When I see life as half full, I see more goodness in life and find more opportunities.

Most of us would not know when we will die, but we can live each day to the fullest by being grateful. The day of death arrives sooner than you think. What would you say when it is here?