Living Kindfully

Know When to Cut Your Losses

I have been developing and marketing a product for 2 years hoping that it will sell well. Through marketing and stubbornness, I made a few good sales but not enough to be sustainable.

Reflecting back, it was never a good idea. I was too blind and only see what I want to see. The market for the product is stagnant, it is barely growing 5% a year. Little and no new users come into the market. The market is already dominated by about 7 competitors and market is caught in a price war. In a nutshell, there are not enough new users for me to service and not enough differentiation for existing users to switch to my product. I could have develop further differentiation, but the size of the market does not justify the cost.

In addition to the time spent, I also reflect the opportunity cost that I have incurred. Instead of diverting my attention to two or more products, I should have focus on my best sellers were there is already a market, and it is still growing. The cost of growing sale is far cheaper compare to developing an entirely new product for a market that is stagnant.

I gave myself 2 years to try the new product and it has failed to reach my expectation. Thus, I have no choice but to cut my losses. It is not an easy decision but the evidence is overwhelming.

The criteria are as follows:

  1. How much is the sale compare to other established product? 2, What is the cost of development and marketing compare to the sales that came in?
  2. What is my opportunity cost if I focus on my core product?
  3. What is the growth of the market size? Are there new users coming into the market? (This was later added when I reviewed my numbers)

From criteria above, I know my product will not sell well. Ultimately, the cost of marketing has eat into my profits and market is not growing as I expected.

Decision should be based on cold hard facts, and a range of criteria for you to assess. Once a decision is made, do not hesitate and take action to implement it.