Living Kindfully

Knowing your Why for Better Decision Making

As of August 8, 2024, I have completed all three core papers for the AMII Level 1 certification.

This insurance qualification typically takes about 18 months to finish. To earn the certification, I must complete a total of six subjects, so I am halfway through.

Each subject requires 42 hours of lectures. Additionally, I have assignments, tests, and exams to finish. Therefore, obtaining this certification demands significant commitment.

My certification journey began in June 2023. In fact, I procrastinated on the decision for almost six months, worried about my commitment level and finding time for the certification.

I finally decided to pursue the certification after my partner reminded me how our clients needed our advice and how detrimental it could be to my career if I failed to help them.

The insurance industry is knowledge-intensive. Without a solid understanding of the industry and client needs, we cannot effectively advise our clients. Ultimately, our product is our knowledge.

The commitment of 42 hours of classroom time per subject, multiplied by six subjects, might seem overwhelming. However, the potential consequence of failing to provide proper advice to clients is far worse. This realization has strengthened my determination to complete the certification.

If you face a significant decision, consider why you must make it and the potential consequences of inaction. Understanding your motivation can help you make the right choice.