Living Kindfully

The Importance of Having a Life Mission

I know of a single mother working two jobs to raise her kids. She always looks tired, but her eyes are filled with energy and resiliency. I asked her whether she feels burn out? Her reply surprises me. Never a moment she felt burn out. Why? Because she has children to raise. That's her life mission.

When we have a life mission, we will expect hardships and suffering, but we also have the resilience to overcome it. There is no alternative option. The do or die lifestyle.

I started my business in my mid-forties. It is also a time where most of my counterpart are taking it easy and preparing for retirement. I give up a good job and chase the satisfaction of building something for myself. The profit from the business also helped to pay for my children's education.

Since I started working, running my own business is my aspiration. I have been inspired by successful entrepreneurs. Obviously, having the financial ability to buy what I want is great. My greatest satisfaction from starting a business is I have created something by myself. I spent my youth feeling afraid but talk about the big dreams and I never take action. As I mature, I start to look down upon myself for not taking my first step. And I know I will die regretting for not chasing my dream.

My business is still at its infant stage. I work seven days a week with no breaks. I am tired, but I am not burn out, as this is my life mission.